Agency Recognizes Affordable Housing Champions

posted in: Press Releases | 0

BISMARCK, ND – North Dakota Housing Finance Agency recognized its outstanding partners as Champions of Affordable Housing at the Statewide Housing Conference.

“The Champions Awards recognize and celebrate the work of individuals, non-profit organizations, public agencies, and private sector businesses who go above and beyond to provide affordable housing for North Dakotans.” said Jolene Kline, NDHFA executive director.

Through NDHFA’s homeownership programs individuals and families, which are typically first-time buyers, receive low-cost financing, and down payment and closing cost assistance.

Four financial institutions and a loan officer from each business were recognized for originating loans on behalf of NDHFA. Blackridge Bank and Doug Wentz of Bismarck; Bremer Bank and Renae Meisch of Wahpeton; Choice Financial and Lindsey Matter of Bismarck; and First Community Credit Union and Tanya Nenow of Jamestown received awards.

NDHFA recognized four real estate agents, Aruna Hagen of Fargo, Kristy Sagaser of Jamestown, and Paige Danner and ‘Stasia Mitzel of Bismarck, for the assistance they provided to NDHFA’s borrowers.

The agency also administers rental programs and supports the development of multifamily housing for low-income families, seniors, and individuals with disabilities. Sister Rebecca Metzger of Grand Forks received NDHFA’s Property Management Award for her compassionate management of St. Anne’s Guest Home, a subsidized housing project that is home to 30 elderly households of limited means.

The agency’s Housing Production Award was presented to the Grand Forks Community Land Trust, which creates and maintains a permanent supply of affordably priced, owner-occupied and rental housing, and assists households that purchase homes to become successful owners.

Leadership Award winners were Gerald Eid and Lynn Fundingsland. Gerald, a Fargo-area builder who served as the chair of NDHFA’s advisory board for 15 years, was instrumental in the development of the agency’s down payment and closing cost assistance programs. Lynn is the outgoing executive director of the Fargo Housing and Redevelopment Authority who employed innovative approaches to provide for and to improve the housing conditions of the lowest-income households in the community and throughout the region.

A self-supporting state agency, NDHFA is dedicated to making housing affordable for all North Dakotans. The Industrial Commission of North Dakota, consisting of Governor Doug Burgum as chairman, Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring and Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem, oversees the agency. For more information on the awards or the agency’s programs, contact (800) 292-8621 or

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *