A nd.gov website. Click for nd.gov.


Homeownership Programs

Mortgage Loans

FirstHome - low- to moderate-income first-time buyers.

HomeAccess - low- to moderate-income buyers who are or who have single-parent, veteran, disabled or elderly household members.

North Dakota Roots - moderate-income buyers who may have previously owned a home.

Major Home Improvement - buy and rehabilitate a single-family home or refinance and rehab your present home.

Targeted Area Loans - available to buyers who will live in targeted areas.

Down Payment and Closing Cost Assistance

Start - assists low- to moderate-income buyers with down payment and closing cost requirements.

DCA - assists low-income borrowers with down payment and closing cost requirements.

Resilient Homebuyer - an incentive for qualified low- to moderate-income buyers impacted by the 2011 Souris River Flood to purchase a home in Minot.

Second Mortgage - assistance programs that may be used in conjunction with NDHFA loans.

Development Programs

Construction Loan Guarantees - loan guarantees for lenders who finance affordable single-family housing construction in rural communities.

Housing Incentive Fund - supports the development of new multi-family housing in the state. It is a special revolving fund capitalized by contributions from North Dakota tax payers.

Low Income Housing Tax Credit - program provides incentives for the production and rehabilitation of rental housing.

Rural Housing Development Loan Program - short-term financing for predevelopment soft costs, land acquisition, site development and construction financing.